How to install and test offline

Officer Dibble Posted in Technical Support 3 years ago

Hi everyone.

I'm a total newbie to web hosting so it would be good to be able to set this up offline and play with it first before going live. I also understand that it is best to keep an offline version of the site for dev work as well.

Can anyone please help me out with installing this in a test environment or point me to instructions on how to do so?

Do I need to install all of the prerequisites listed on the how to install page on to my laptop? I'm running linux mint 32 bit on my laptop but I have a server running OMV that is 64 bit if a 64 bit environment is required.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Replies
vn Felix Andrea Replied 2 weeks ago

Hi!

To set up a testing environment for web hosting, you can use XAMPP or LAMP on your Linux Mint. These are software packages that are easy to install and help you run a web server on your PC.

Install XAMPP: Download the 32-bit version from the official site and follow the installation instructions.
Install LAMP: You can install Apache, MySQL and PHP using the command in the terminal:

sudo apt update
sudo apt install apache2 mysql-server php libapache2-mod-php php-mysql
Test: After installation, you can access localhost on your browser to test.

If you want to test on a 64-bit OMV server, you can also install LAMP similarly, but make sure to check the system requirements for each software. Or follow rice purity test">https://www.opensource-socialnetwork.org/wiki/view/3994/how-to-install-ossn-on-ubuntu-1804-2004-2104-x64-using-command-linerice purity test

Good luck!

Indonesian Arsalan Shah Replied 3 years ago

please follow https://www.opensource-socialnetwork.org/wiki/view/3994/how-to-install-ossn-on-ubuntu-1804-2004-2104-x64-using-command-line

Regarding the article I will update it. You need fo make sure in your apache vhost config you allowed the use of . htaccess.